[Audio] MG (Martin Gore)’s ‘Europa Hymn’


Martin Gore

Depeche Mode driving force, Techno enthusiast and one of our generations greatest songwriters, Martin Gore, has just announced a brand new electronic instrumental album, due out next month. The sixteen track record will be released under the MG moniker and titled the same; it was recorded post-Mode’s 2013 tour with Gore wanting to “keep the music very electronic, very filmic, and give it an almost Sci-Fi like quality,”. Check out the first taste of MG below in the form of Europa Hymn.

Europa Hymn is an evocative machine symphony. A track that combines Vangelis-esque synth swells with factors industrial percussion. Rather that this electronic experiment being harsh and moody, Europa Hymn is actually a bright and optimistic track. Gore conveys heaps of emotion in his use of dewdrop melodies and rising keys. We kinda’ wish modern Depeche Mode albums sounded more like this.

♫ MG – Europa Hymn

MG’s MG is released 27 April.

Check out more from MG on SoundCloud.

Vince Clarke reMixes LIARS


‘No.1 Against The Rush’ is the new single from Californian Indie-Electro weirdos and Mute signees, LIARS. The track starts of well with some lovely electronic tones but around the halfway point slips into slightly mediocre Folktronika. Luckily one of the biggest perks of being on Mute must be access to the legend that is Mr. Vince Clarke.

Vince’s reMix of ‘No.1 Against The Rush’ is a pulsing, synthetic, joy. Combining elements of EBM, House and his love of all things analog synth this reMix whisky your up in it’s dancefloor mesmerism and turns the vocal, originally a half heard sigh amongst the dirge, into a powerful lament. At one this track is both fresh and reminiscent of some of the heydays of clubbing. Mr. Clarke’s repetitive, undulating groove pins the whole track down with the kind of driving force found on early ‘90’s dancefloors in dimly lit European clubs. He’s bringing the New Beat back!

♫ LIARS – No.1 Against The Rush (Vince Clarke reMix)

‘No.1 Against The Rush’ is released 28th May on Mute.

Buy LIARS’ music from:


Depeche Mode new album news


Depeche Mode have finally set a date for the new album, now titled ‘Sounds Of The Universe’

From depechemode.com:

“January 15, 2009- Groundbreaking, chart-topping electro legends Depeche Mode are proud to announce the release of their long-anticipated new studio album, Sounds Of The Universe on April 21, 2009 (Mute Records).”

Looks like Dave Gahan is taking more of a prominent role as a second songwriter which, if his last solo effort is anything to go by, isn’t necessarily a bad thing.

This is the quote from the press release that excites me:

“Recorded in Santa Barbara and New York, Depeche Mode returned to using a lot of vintage gear, from analogue synthesizers to drum machines, in order to conjure up the retro-futuristic arrangements featured on the album”

As ever, ‘Sounds Of The Universe’ will be released on Mute Records Ltd.

It looks like the album will actually be available for download on April 20th in Europe.

If we’re going to take about Depeche I can’t help but drop this 2006 reMix of ‘Personal Jesus’ by Boys Noize:

Depeche Mode – Personal Jesus (Boys Noize Rework) (zShare) (MediaFire)

Along with some classic Mode from ’83:

Depeche Mode – Get The Balance Right! (zShare) (MediaFire)

Pick up some of Depeche’s back catalogue in preparation for the new album!

Depeche Mode @ Juno

Depeche Mode @ 7Digital

Depeche Mode @ Amazon